Statement |
% Agree |
% change from 21/22 |
|---|---|---|
|
Suitable study/work space is readily available in the Library building(s) |
55% |
+9% |
|
It is easy to find the location of suitable study/work spaces in the Library building(s) |
58% |
+5% |
|
The study/work space provided by the Library meets my needs |
68% |
+5% |
|
Action |
Progress to date |
Future plans |
|
TCD Sense Project |
Working with the Disability Service, the Library has refurbished a number of spaces to ensure that staff and students with different sensory preferences can flourish. https://www.tcd.ie/disability/services/tcdsense.php |
The Library will be refurbishing the Assistive Technology Information Centre (ATIC) space in the Library Complex in summer 2024 and will also launch two acoustic pods in the basement of the former Berkeley Library. |
|
Access control system |
The Library partnered with Estates & Facilities and IT Services to install a new access control system (consisting of access gates and security software) to improve the security of Library reading rooms and collections, and to maximise the availability of spaces for Trinity students. https://www.tcd.ie/library/news/access-gate-success-all-areas-complete/ |
The next phase in the project will involve the introduction of a seat and group study room booking system (currently in development) and a solution for issuing temporary access ID cards to those who have misplaced or lost their primary student or staff ID card. |
|
Interim Research Collections Study Centre |
To ensure continuity of services for the duration of the Old Library Redevelopment Project, an interim Research Collections Study Centre will open on Tuesday 7th May 2024 in the Ussher Library (basement level) for readers consulting manuscripts, archives, early printed books and special collections. The Glucksman Map Library will reopen at the same time, along with a new seminar room. https://libguides.tcd.ie/olrp |
The Library’s Click & Collect service will be extended to include the majority of Research Collections material, ensuring next day delivery for most materials. |
|
Trinity East |
Funding has been secured for a new Research and Innovation Library for the Trinity East campus. It will be Trinity’s first stand-alone digital library and is expected to open in 2027, focusing on embracing modern and collaborative working and studying approaches. https://www.tcd.ie/news_events/articles/2024/laidlaw-funding-news/ |
A consultation process will be undertaken to ensure the Research and Innovation Library meets the ever-evolving needs of Trinity staff and students, while also increasing the number of available study spaces and expanding access to the Library’s vast digital holdings. |
|
Hamilton Library 24/7 opening |
The Hamilton Library was opened on a 24/7 basis for a six-week trial period from St. Patrick’s Day to the end of the main exam period in early May. This provided an additional 600 study spaces for late evening and weekend study, relieving pressure on Kinsella Hall and the 1937 reading Room. https://www.tcd.ie/library/news/library-extension-of-24-hour-study-space-to-start-on-march-19th-2024/ |
The Library is planning to implement a similar arrangement leading up to exams in December 2024 and is likely to continue this pattern in future years. |
|
Weeding of open shelf collections |
A preliminary exercise was completed during the pandemic to analyse the usage of open shelf collections in each Library, with a view to identifying material that could be moved to storage, freeing up space for additional study spaces and group study rooms etc. |
A weeding project to move low demand materials to storage will be progressed in summer 2024, with a focus on collections in the Hamilton and Lecky libraries. |
|
Action |
Progress to date |
Future plans |
|
TCD Sense Project |
To assist students to search for and locate suitable sensory spaces, a sensory map of campus has been developed. |
Options are being explored for linking the campus sensory map with the Library’s existing 3D mapping application and a new virtual tour application (see below). |
|
Signage project in the Library Complex |
The Library has partnered with the Disability Service and Estates & Facilities to initiate a major signage project in the Library Complex. Funding has been secured to address long-standing challenges relating to wayfinding, accessibility and integrating plain English into all signage. |
A process is underway to assign a Project Manager and to procure the services of Conservation Architects on core design requirements. The project is expected to be completed by the end of the calendar year, 2024. |
|
Refresh of 3D Maps
|
The Library’s 3D mapping application is currently being refreshed and updated. |
Options are being explored to incorporate new functionality within the 3D maps and create linkages with the 360 virtual tour application mentioned above and the campus sensory map. |
