Library Survey 2023/24

Action

Progress to date

Future plans

Expansion of User Experience communications with appointment of new Outreach & Events executive. Incremental increase in social media output reaching out to Library’s readers.

Promoting greater engagement with Library resources, services and support throughout the academic year for all student cohorts and linking in with societal & College events.

As part of the ongoing communications and promotion of Library resources, services and support the aim is to further increase the Library’s overall responsiveness to its readers’ needs.

Increase in production of video and digital content showcasing Library collections and projects.

The Library has increased public engagement with its Library collections through a website, video series, online exhibitions, blogs, media and social media as part of its ambitious multi-annual Virtual Trinity Library programme. In tandem with this, the Old Library Redevelopment Project which included the monumental task of decanting the Library collections of its 700,000 items and 350,000 early printed books has been captured on video, time lapses, a dedicated website, social media and media as part of ongoing promotion around the landmark conservation project. This included the historic launch of the first women sculptures in the Old Library.

As part of the ongoing communications and promotion of the Library collections the aim is to increase public engagement around them in online and digital platforms.

Promotion of Library collections via book displays

The Library has stepped up its promotion of modern collections by curating topical book displays with reading material selected by staff and students on themes including climate awareness, LGBTQI+, travel and race and ethnicity. These book displays include associated reading lists and encourage readers to come to the Library not just as a space to study, but to explore interests, relax, and feel welcomed.

Opportunities are being explored for additional dedicated spaces for displays and exhibitions in the foyer of the former Berkeley Library.

Equality, Diversity, Inclusion (EDI) training for Library staff

The Library has drafted an Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Strategy covering the following strands: Engagement and Belonging, Supporting Library Staff, Library Estate, Content & Collections, How the Library Operates and Supporting Research.  It also ensures Equality, Diversity & Inclusion are key themes in overall Library communication, online & social media.

As part of the ‘Supporting Library Staff’ strand, an awareness and training programme for frontline staff will commence in 2024.

Action

Progress to date

Future plans

Daily delivery of material from external storage

Previously, material from external storage was delivered twice a week. This was increased to daily deliveries in 2023, ensuring a next day delivery model for nearly all materials held in offsite storage.

The daily delivery service will be rolled out for nearly all Research Collections materials (i.e. materials that had been stored in the Old Library but are now in external storage)

Creation of a research consultation space in the Ussher Library

A printing/photocopying room in the Ussher Library has been converted into a research consultation space to provide a venue for the Library’s Teaching & Research Support team to engage with students.

‘Smart’ book return drop points

A funding application has been made to procure book return boxes that are capable of reading the RFID (radio frequency identification) tags on Library books. Books returned to these boxes will come off the reader’s account immediately, streamlining the book return process and ensuring that materials become available to the next reader more quickly. The boxes can also be designed to operate externally to Library buildings, providing a means of returning books 24/7.

Scan on demand

Planning is underway to reinstate the Library’s scan on demand service, which operated during the Covid 19 pandemic, with a view to it becoming a permanent service in the future.

The scan on demand service may eventually incorporate theses digitisation requests.

Noise cancelling headphones

The Library has procured a number of noise-cancelling headphones as part of the TCD Sense project. These will be made available for loan within each reading room.

Self-service model for pick-up of materials ordered from storage

The Library is conducting market research to identify a suitable system to enable self-service pick-up of materials ordered from storage. This would make the Click & Collect service more convenient and more flexible.