Statement |
% Agree |
% change from 21/22 |
|---|---|---|
|
It is easy to find printed books and journals |
65% |
+2% |
|
It is easy to access e-books, e-journals and databases |
62% |
+1% |
|
The Library has the right resources for my course/research degree programme/role |
78% |
+4% |
|
Action |
Progress to date |
Future plans |
|
A new Library Services Platform (LSP) |
The Library has commenced a project to begin replacing the Library’s administration system and public catalogue, Stella Search. Requirements have been gathered for the new Library Services Platform. |
The tender for the LSP has been issued in May 2024. We’re aiming to ‘go live’ with the new LSP over the Summer in 2025. |
|
Access to UK electronic Legal Deposit (UKeLD) content |
After the cyber-attack on the British Library, we created a LibGuide to signpost alternative content options for readers. |
The Library continues to work closely with the British Library rebuilding the access solution. It’s expected to restore access to existing content by August 2024. |
|
Lobbying for fairer ebook licensing |
Many academic publishers produce e-books that are unaffordable, unsustainable and in some cases, inaccessible to the Trinity community after just one year. The #ebooksos campaign has highlighted the unfair practices of some of the major publishing companies and the Library has supported the Trinity Students Union on a pre-budget submission. |
The Library is working with a new Knowledge Rights 21 National Coordinator for Ireland to continue the #ebooksos campaign for the Irish library sector. |
|
Action |
Progress to date |
Future plans |
|
Tools to aid browsability of, access to and analysis of online content |
The Library provides browser plugins by LibKey and Lean Library. These both let your browser check if the Library has access to electronic resources or databases found in search results. |
Once a new LSP is selected the Library will review and rollout a more advanced version of either LibKey or Lean Library. The Library is currently working on the rollout of the Keenious recommendation tool to suggest further relevant research topics and resources as you write. |
|
A tool for module reading lists |
MyReadingList is a reading list tool integrated into Blackboard that enables academics to create dynamic and up to date reading lists. It allows readers to see in real time, the availability of material on the shelves or to click through to online books, journals, videos and blogs. Students also have the option to annotate lists to aid study. |
Continue the wider rollout of MyReadingList to more courses and Modules. |
|
Access to substantial e book collection |
The Library has taken a one-year subscription to the EBSCO Academic Collection. This resource provides access to nearly a quarter of a million additional ebooks which are now available to access through Stella Search. |
Use of this collection will be monitored to measure demand for extending access to this collection in the future. |
|
Thematic Reading Lists |
The Library has published a series of thematic resource lists to support the university’s strategic aim to enhance diversity and the student experience. These include A-Z guides on race and ethnicity; LGBTQI+; climate literacy; inclusive practices in higher education and coping strategies for exam success. |
The Library will be exploring ideas for topics for reading lists with students and inviting them to co create resource lists during 2024/25. |
|
Action |
Progress to date |
Future plans |
|
Integration of mid-twentieth-century collections into the catalogue |
Approximately 300,000 of the Library’s pre-1970 acquisitions have been integrated into Stella Search, removing the requirement for researchers to consult separate library catalogues. |
Click and Collect requesting will be rolled out to these collections over the summer 2024. |
