Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Menu Search


Old Library Redevelopment Project: Updates for Readers

The Old Library's upper gallery
Render of the new reading room
Fellows' Square
The Oldf Library's shelves

About the Old Library Redevelopment Project

The Old Library Redevelopment Project is an ambitious restoration project that will draw on the best 21st-century design and technology to safeguard the Old Library building and conserve its precious collections for future generations. It includes urgent structural and environmental upgrades, and the redevelopment of facilities in line with the best libraries and museums around the world.

The Old Library Redevelopment Project commenced in 2021. Restoration and construction works are due to start in 2023 and are scheduled to last three years. The newly conserved Old Library will include a beautiful new Research Collections Study Centre on the ground floor. The following stages are key components of the project including the decant of collections which will involve their relocation:

  • The Ussher Library Basement collection relocation
  • A new interim Research Collections Study Centre located in the Ussher Library Basement
  • The relocation of the Research Collections from all areas of the Old Library
  • Opening of the interim Book of Kells exhibition
  • Construction period

Continuity of Service

Over the lifetime of the project there will be continuity of access to Research Collections material, of all Library services, and to the expertise of Research Collections staff. We will be communicating with the College community prior to the decant and other enabling works. Disruption will be kept at a minimum. There may be brief periods where certain collections are temporarily inaccessible during the relocation process, and we will alert our readers in advance on this page.

Joint Research Collections Reading Room

The Joint Research Collections Reading Room is currently housed in the East Pavilion of the Old Library and will remain there until the beginning of the next academic term, 2022/23. It is the joint reading room for Early Printed Books, Special Collections, and Manuscripts & Archives collections. From the start of the 2022/23 academic year, the Research Collections service will move to a new interim Research Collections Study Centre in the basement of the Ussher Library. 

Keeping our Readers Updated

All updates and advance notices will be provided for Library readers and the College community on this Library Guide. For more information on the Old Library Redevelopment Project see the Old Library Redevelopment website.

Glucksman Map Library

Renovation work is due to commence in April in the Ussher Library Basement to make way for the new interim Research Collections Study Centre as part of the Old Library Redevelopment Project. The Glucksman Map Library reading room will be temporarily inaccessible from April onwards for a number of months. There will be continuity of service with a scan on demand and enquiry service available during this period. Map Library staff will continue to have access to the collections for this purpose. The Map Library reading room will reopen alongside the interim Research Collections Study Centre at the beginning of 2022/23 academic year. All requests for the scan on demand service from April onwards may be submitted to the email: map.library@tcd.ie or telephone +353 1 8962087 or 8961544.