Welcome to the Psychology page which aims to provide you with information on important resources and services to support your research. Use the tabs on the left to find more targeted information.
Working remotely and in need of face to face help? I am still available to help you online. Use the email opposite to schedule a morning session on Zoom or MS TEAMS.
A simple forward and back email may work too. My work pattern is mornings but I will do my best to accommodate your needs.
Want an answer in a hurry? If you have a general service query use our livechat service called "Chat With Us" (weekdays 10am - 4pm (during term), 11am - 3pm (out of term)). Search the FAQs out of hours for your answer or email it to us. All our service updates are available from our Plan your visit page
Looking for material not in the Library? Use our free inter-library loans service. If you are looking for a book chapter, use the online request form for books>book chapter.
Confused why you can't view some E-books from home? This probably refers to ebooks received under UK copyright which can only be viewed in the Library. Most of our purchased ebooks can be accessed from home. See our Guides & Tutorials section for relevant videos.
Need training? Do you want to learn how to search the catalogue (STELLA search) effectively or get started on Endnote? We have a number of short tutorials and recorded webinars freely available from our Guides & Tutorials section on the Support & Training page.
Whether you are being asked to review academic literature for an assignment, thesis or as a standalone "systematic review", you need to know where to find authoritative resources, what the process involves and where to get support. A good starting point is your course handbook which outlines what type of review you are being asked to do and which referencing style to use. In general, the APA style is used in Psychology. Be aware of the different types of reviews and whether you are being asked to adopt a systematic approach to your searching and methodology (systematized review) or to carry out a full systematic review as exemplified in Cochrane Reviews. Always check with your supervisor, if in doubt. Take a look at some useful tutorials and resources under the Useful Links tab.
General Library supports include training throughout the year, online and print resources on literature reviews and one to one or small group sessions with subject librarians. We have recently added two new webpages on doing general Literature Reviews and Systematic Literature Reviews. Please contact me for help using my email opposite. You should also take a look at the Student Learning and Development website for complementary resources in this area (e.g. time management, academic writing etc.)
Quick link to ebooks on doing literature reviews (requires College ID to access off-campus).
Some of the information on other institution's pages may be useful but please note that their links to local resources will not apply. Equivalent links to our main catalogue STELLA search and our databases are available under SEARCH COLLECTIONS on the Library homepage.
Video tutorial on Conducting a Systematic Review (Four part series) (courtesy Laurie Theeke)
Screening Tool: COVIDENCE (Select from Databases page on Library website
Covidence: accelerate your Systematic Review (Video tutorial from Carrie Price, Welsh Medical Library)
The main referencing style used in Psychology is the American Psychological Association style or APA for short. This is a Harvard style system using author/date formatting. It is often called a parenthetical style with citations placed with parentheses or brackets. See our tutorial on referencing and plagiarism for more information.
If you decide to reference manually, the main Publication manual of the APA is available in the Library. There are print copies of the 6th and the most recent 7th editions in the Library. There are particular websites which are useful for APA support:
We have access to the ebook version of the APA 7th publication manual for the academic year 2020/1 so please make full use of it.
Remember that in most databases you can use the cite feature within a record to copy the citation into your reference list. However, you will still need to manually create the intext citation within your document. See a quick clip here on how this works (EBSCO) (min 1:12 -1:52)
You may decide to use a reference manager software to automatically reference your material. Examples include Zotero, Mendeley, Refworks and Endnote. The Library supports Endnote. Please see our Endnote pages for download instructions and support information.
The Library tutorial on Endnote is available to view here
Additional links to proprietary guides from Endnote.com (Clarivate Analytics)
See these links to troubleshoot problems you may encounter using APA style in Endnote (courtesy of AUT university librarians).
Curtin Library Endnote pages are also very comprehensive.
EPPI Reviewer. This can be used for all types of reviews. Please note that the library does not subscribe to this tool.
This is a quick link to the psychology print book collection in the Library. Not all books are on the open shelves and may need to be requested online from our Storage facilities.
This is a quick link to online or Ebooks on psychology. You can access these using your College ID (username and password). Please note your username is like your TCD email account name WITHOUT the @tcd suffix.
Ebooks are hosted on various platforms or interfaces. Most providers allow you to view entire books but only print a percentage. This is usually one chapter or equivalent number of pages. Access details are usually explained on the landing page of the book.
Any open access book (freely available on the Internet) can be used fully.
Although we don't have commercial tests in the Library, you might find a useful instrument attached to a research paper in Psycinfo or other database. These generally allow you to use/adapt for educational purposes. Take a look at my quick guide to finding tests and resources which evaluate them. Please note that the latter (Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print series are print volumes which are held in the library). Always check with your supervisor for tests guidance.
Take a look at how to find tests and measurements within research papers in PsycInfo (EBSCO) database.
Use this link to find related e-collections including databases comprising of ebooks, video and multiformat online resources.https://stella.catalogue.tcd.ie/iii/encore/plus/C__SE%20Databases%20Health%20Sciences__P1__Orightresult__X0__T?lang=eng&suite=cobalt
All of the Library's search tools are available under Search Collections on the homepage. This includes databases, search engines and catalogues.
Use the library's main search tool, STELLA search (our catalogue), to explore a topic and to find books, journal articles and more. This catalogue facilitates online requesting of Stacks/Storage material which are not on the open shelves. Take a look at our recent videos and tutorials on finding material in the library
STELLA results can be overwhelming so use the limiters or facets under REFINE BY on the results page. Selecting LIBRARY CATALOGUE ONLY will only display items in our collection, both online and print. Locations and shelfmarks will help you locate material.
Please note open shelf collections consist mainly of course related material whilst a lot of books received under copyright from UK and Irish publishers are in Stacks/Storage. These can be requested using the CLICK and COLLECT (STORAGE) option within the catalogue record.
Ebooks which have been purchased can be accessed on/off-campus using your College ID (username and password). However, Ebooks made available under UK copyright must be consulted on site on library pcs. The latter is indicated by the following message
Fulltext options for accessing journal articles or papers are evident at the record level in STELLA search. Click and follow links. Again, this requires your College ID.
Articles not displaying? If the article link is not apparent or the link is not working, try searching using the journal title and browse options (online or print), taking note of availability for the year you require. Due to some online publisher embargoes (restricted access) for current year issues you should opt for other providers where possible. Report broken links to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Why not try the LEAN library app. to search for articles while using Google or Google Scholar? This will redirect you to Trinity subscribed material and freely available items. Download the browser app. from our OFF-CAMPUS page. If you still can't locate an item, whether a book or article, email me for confirmation. If I am unavailable to reply, email email@example.com or chat live with library staff using the Chat with us tab on the library website (10am-4pm Monday to Friday).
For more advanced journal article searching necessary for literature reviews, use recommended databases. Always consider the interdisciplinarity of your subject and check other subject librarian pages.
Books not in our collection? If no shelfmark or location is evident within the catalogue record, it indicates that the item is not in our collection. You can source material through the inter-library loan service or visit a hosting library with an ALCID card (note: undergraduates apply for a letter from the duty librarian). Tip: check other library catalogues in advance of visiting. THIS SERVICE HAS BEEN SUSPENDED DURING COVID-19 RESTRICTIONS. You can also recommend a title for purchase by emailing me.
Short, newly released tutorials on using Psycinfo with example research questions