Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Menu Search


Trinity LibTech Research Showcase 2019

An archive of the research presented at the Trinity LibTech Research Showcase, held as part of the 2019 LIBER Conference

Joe Lakes - Digital Collections: Unlocking access to the Library’s Treasures

The Library of Trinity College Dublin’s Digital Collection’s Repository is an open source and Fedora Commons based repository through which access is provided to the Library’s digitised collections.  A project is currently underway in the Library to replace this end-of-life digital collections software with an integrated service implemented using Hyrax Samvera (front end) and Fedora Commons (repository software).  We will describe the approach taken to replace the service, the software used, and future development plans.  During the demonstration we will provide participants with the opportunity to view and interact with the test version in development. Digital Collections delivers the Library’s strategic goal to open up unique collections for global access and to stimulate new research.

About the Speaker

Joe is a computer science graduate from Trinity College with over thirty years’ IT development experience. He completed a masters in Multimedia Systems in TCD in 2008 and has an interest in the social and cultural application of technology. He joined the library in Trinity College in August 2018 with a brief to replace the aging Digital Collections infrastructure.