Nursing & Midwifery

It is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database that covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

An authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. It provides full-text for more than 1,300 indexed journals. With more of the top nursing and allied health journals, CINAHL Ultimate provides better research results for better patient care.

Evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

Contains 480+ nursing titles.

Biomedical and pharmacological database which provides access to the most up-to-date information about medical and drug-related subjects.

Over 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines

Archive of peer-reviewed articles from the British Journal of Midwifery, the UK's leading clinical journal for midwives and the African Journal of Midwifery and Women's Health.

Over 7000 full text articles from the following journals: British Journal of Nursing British Journal of Community Nursing Practice Nursing British Journal of Midwifery Nursing and Residential Care International Journal of Palliative Nursing Nurse Prescribing.

Provides access to 25 Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins journal titles addressing nursing and allied health topics.

Resource for academics and healthcare professionals involved in the care of women and infants. Coverage: 1970 onwards.

The programme was established in 2010 as a joint initiative of the HSE Clinical Strategy and Programmes Division and the Royal College of Physicians.

Abstract database providing systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. (also includes records from the 1600s and 1700s).
Subject coverage is in the fields of psychology, behavioral science and mental health.

The subject scope of MEDLINE is biomedicine and health. Increased coverage of life sciences began in 2000. To find PDFs from Trinity subscriptions, we recommend you install Lean Library.

This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.

Contains 350 evidence-based clinical procedures related to every aspect of care, from handwashing to cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

SUMARI facilitates the creation of systematic reviews, from project and team management to writing of the final report. BEFORE using the SUMARI tool, all researchers and team members must FIRST create a “personal account” with Ovid, the providers of SUMARI . To do so, click on the link. From the drop-down box in Ovid SP select EPB Tools > SUMARI > “Register New User”. Follow the registration instructions to create the account. Once your account is registered you will be able to create a new SUMARI project. All team members on group projects must have personal accounts before project invites can be sent.

Free access until 30th April: MEDLINE Ultimate supports the medical research needs around the world. It comprises more than 2500 active full-text journals and magazines.

Ten Elsevier health textbooks.

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database. Provides full text access to over 4,600 full text and 3,600 peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subjects areas.

Contains nearly 400 videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colours.

Evidence-based drug information.

Journal articles in fields allied to medicine and alternatives to conventional medicine.

The Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a peer-reviewed medical journal published by the American Medical Association. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of biomedicine.

Authoritative, analytic reviews in focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

A collection of astronomical data that has been published and updated since 1767.

It is a comprehensive collection of educational research documents relating to educational trends, policy, and practices.

English and Welsh, Irish and Scottish legislation and law reports.

Peer-reviewed biomedical research. Also covers the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines.

The complete text of 23 journals published by the BMJ (including the British Medical Journal).

TCD users need to create an individual account to access interactive learning modules for radiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, neurology, oncology, pediatrics, psychology, respiratory ENT, musculoskeletal, and practical skills.

Over 360 titles on the Ovid platform. The titles include: Brunner & Suddarth's Textbook of Medical Surgical Nursing; Essentials of Nursing Research: Methods, Appraisal, and Utilization; Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence For Nursing Practice.

It covers all aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. Indexing British education journals, theses and more, this resource is searchable by educational level and age group. Coverage dating back to 1929.

Organised for quick reference and provides information for healthcare professionals on safe and effective use of medicines, and the management of common conditions.

Guidance on the actions and uses of drugs prescribed in the UK for children.

Database for support of practice, education, and research for nurses, midwives, and health providers in the UK or following UK practice.

The authoritative and most current source of standards from BSI.

Full text access to approximately 2,300 academic journals covering accounting, agriculture, banking, economics, finance, human resources, international business, law, management, marketing, psychology and sociology.

Over 360 journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Coverage: 1997-

An international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions.

Systematic reviews production tool for title/abstract screening, full-text screening, data abstraction, and quality assessment. The primary screening and data extraction tool for Cochrane authors.

Information on the administration of drugs via enteral feeding tubes.

This updated 12th edition provides expert analysis and essential evidence-based information.

The Library has purchased a number of individual e-book titles on the ProQuest Ebook platform.
Books published by a variety of publishers in a number of subject areas are available to browse and search. You may check the Library Catalogue for specific titles.

Information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
It contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
BREI and ERIC can be searched individually or simultaneously on the EBSCO platform.

Provides extensive access to education-related literature.

The UK's national doctoral research theses service.
This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.

Direct free access to European Union law.

Links to EU documents, from legal texts to historical records, the latest EU-wide surveys and opinion polls.

A bibliographical resource with coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day.

A Google database focusing specifically on scholarly literature. To add links to TCD subscriptions of journal articles, follow our video guide.

Government of Ireland. Information on the Irish State.

UK government services and information.

Interactive tables hosted by the CSO.
National Admissions -- National Discharges -- Health Service Executive Area Admissions and Discharges -- Hospital Type Admissions and Discharges -- Child and Adolescent In-Patient Admissions and Discharges.

Over 2100 seminar style, audio-visual presentations across 18 subject areas within Biomedical and Life Sciences.

Access to scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.

Spans 1897 to the present day, capturing the development of modern Ireland in a uniquely accessible manner.

Contains 63 full text Irish newspapers from which it is possible to search, retrieve and view Ireland's past in the exact format it was published.

Includes Acts of the Oireachtas and Statutory Instruments, the official versions of which remain the printed versions published by Government Publications. You can track amendments to legislation, access the Constitution and a selection of pre-1922 legislation while links to external legislation resources are also provided.

Latest news including sport, analysis, business, weather and more from the definitive brand of quality news in Ireland.
Full text available on ProQuest: 1995 to present.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Critically evaluate and compare journals in the sciences and social sciences using citation data from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals.

Comprehensive multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections digital archive.
Access to the following collections: Ireland Collection, Arts and Sciences I to VIII, JSTOR Arts & Sciences XII Collection, Global Plants and the Life Sciences Collection.

Captures, distributes and preserves digital research products. Here you can find articles, working papers, preprints, technical reports, conference papers and data sets in various digital formats

MedicinesComplete (Pharmaceutical Press) provides online access to some of the world's leading drug and healthcare reference works.

A comprehensive source for medical and biomedical sciences.

International literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.

A range of databases directed at healthcare professionals, and includes information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, and patient education.
Includes MARTINDALE - The Complete Drug Reference.

An online repository of Irish drug-related research and a range of other material.

Leading weekly, international scientific journal dedicated to serving the scientific and medical communities and the wider scientifically interested general public

A dedicated child protection resource.

Five essential AAP resources now share an integrated platform, with quick, easy access to well-care guides, acute-care answers, patient education, tool and resource collections, and pediatric coding. The collection includes the 8th Edition Neonatal Resuscitation Textbook in English and Spanish.

Content includes: Legislation: UK, Scottish, Northern Ireland, Welsh ; Command and House Papers and Parliamentary Publications.

Abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.

OvidSP is a platform. This link is to the main search screen and opens the search screen across our OVID subscriptions:
Books@Ovid; Journals@Ovid Full Text [i.e. an INDEX to Full Text]; Your Journals@Ovid [Full Text of LWW journals to which TCD has subscriptions]; Ovid Medline files - (TCD - use PubMed instead); Maternity and Infant Care.

Consists of 169 online journals from arts, social science, scientific, technical, medical, professional and humanities disciplines.

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.

IHRL covers international decisions on human rights from a variety of global and regional courts.

Over 22,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

Scholarly literature published in electronic form to ensure that these materials remain accessible to future scholars, researchers, and students.

Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
TCD does not have access to Project Muse books

Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.

This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.

Full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe.

556 individual SAGE journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine.

Scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,200 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

Offers access to the research performance of 7,500 research institutions and 220 countries worldwide. Registration Required.

An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences.

A bibliographic database that indexes articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere.

Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Coverage: 1979 - current

Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Coverage: 1952 - current

Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.

A collection of electronic resources (ebooks) for healthcare professionals.
STAT!Ref includes cross-searchable, full-text titles in a breadth of healthcare disciplines from a wide variety of authors, publishers and societies.

TCD's open access repository.

Multidisciplinary resource. Access to the full text of over 1,300 journals published by Taylor and Francis.

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.

A clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
A smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence. Searched over 125,000,000 times. Over 70% of clinical questions answered.

The official catalogue of UK official publications. It spans 20 years of government information, with thousands of documents archived in full text.

Requires user login, please see USP-NF Accounts & Access. USP-NF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). Monographs for drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations are featured in the USP. Monographs for dietary supplements and ingredients appear in a separate section of the USP. Excipient monographs are in the NF.

Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of worldwide research journals.

Irish legal materials database; contains Irish reported and unreported case law, consolidated/annotated legislation, legal textbooks and legal journals.
Also offers a current awareness service providing updates on recent developments in Irish law.

A collection of 36 Legal E-Textbooks

Full text access to over 2,400 journals in all disciplines published by John Wiley & Sons.

Annual compilation of data about economic development and internationally comparable indicators.