Library Guides: Nursing & Midwifery: Books

New Books

Advanced Practice Nursing by Susan M. DeNisco (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781284264661
Publication Date: 2023-02-21
Birthing Outside the System by Hannah Dahlen (Editor); Virginia Schmied (Editor); Bashi Kumar-Hazard (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138592704
Publication Date: 2020-01-28
Care Planning by David Barrett; Benita Wilson; Andrea Woodlands This clear and intuitive introduction to care planning for nurses explains the benefits of holistic, individualised care planning from a professional and clinical perspective. Using the ASPIRE model, it guides the reader step-by-step through a problem-solving approach to care, from assessing patients and identifying their needs, to planning goals and interventions, and evaluating progress.
ISBN: 9781138642195
Publication Date: 2019
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care, Third Edition by Kathleen M. White (Editor); Sharon Dudley-Brown (Editor); Mary F. Terhaar (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826147363
Publication Date: 2021
The Great Ormond Street Hospital Manual of Children and Young People's Nursing Practices by Elizabeth Anne Bruce (Editor); Janet Williss (Editor); Faith Gibson (Editor)
Call Number: LEN 610.7362 R22*1
ISBN: 9781118898222
Publication Date: 2023-03-13
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy by Judith Garrard
Call Number: SJ 610.73072 R41*5
ISBN: 9781284211290
Publication Date: 2022-12-01

Finding Your Books in the Library

Shelfmarks are assigned to books to enable you to locate them on the Library shelves once you find them in Stella Search. You will see a white shelfmark label attached to the cover of each book, and each book has a unique address.

E-Book Collections

EBSCO E-Book Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains 480+ nursing titles.
E-Books which focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, and practical handbooks.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window Over 360 titles on the Ovid platform. The titles include: Brunner & Suddarth's Textbook of Medical Surgical Nursing; Essentials of Nursing Research: Methods, Appraisal, and Utilization; Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence For Nursing Practice.
123Library This link opens in a new window Ten Elsevier health textbooks.
An Introduction to Research for Midwives / Colin Rees; Anatomy and Physiology for Midwives / Jane Coad; Melvyn Dunstall; Bailliere's Study Skills for Nurses and Midwives / Sian Maslin-Prothero; Essential Communication Skills for Nursing and Midwifery / Philippa Sully; Joan Dallas; Gray's Anatomy for Students / Richard Drake; A, Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell; Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine / Parveen Kumar; Michael L Clark; Mayes' Midwifery / Sue Macdonald; Myles' Textbook for Midwives (2009) / Diane M. Fraser; Margaret A. Cooper; Myles' Textbook for Midwives (2014) / Jayne E. Marshall; Maureen D. Raynor; Survival Guide to Midwifery / Diane M. Fraser; Margaret A. Cooper.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window A collection of electronic resources (ebooks) for healthcare professionals. STAT!Ref includes cross-searchable, full-text titles in a breadth of healthcare disciplines from a wide variety of authors, publishers and societies.

The following are key individual ebooks purchased for the School and are used across courses.

Becoming a reflective practitioner
Becoming a Reflective Practitioner provides a unique insight into reflective practice, exploring the value of using models of reflection, with particular reference to Christopher Johns' own model for structured reflection. Now in its fourth edition, this book has been completely revised and updated to include up-to-date literature and reflective extracts.
Brunner & Suddarth's textbook of medical-surgical nursing
Up-to-date coverage of the health care needs of people with disabilities, nursing research findings, ethical considerations, and evidence-based practice gives you opportunities to refine your clinical decision-making skills. Fully updated and enhanced, this new edition provides a fully integrated solution that promotes clinical judgment, performance, and success on the NCLEX examination and in nursing practice.
A Dictionary of Nursing
Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,400 clear and concise entries on the theory and practice of nursing, this dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, statistics, and pharmacology.
Nursing research : principles, process and issues
This popular book equips students with the information and skills they need to read, comprehend and critique research. Whether an undergraduate taking an introductory research module, a postgraduate nursing student embarking on a project, or an experienced practitioner wanting to sharpen your skills, Parahoo’s accessible writing style will ensure readers are able to utilise research throughout their study and in everyday practice.
Psychiatric and mental health nursing : the craft of caring
This new edition of a bestselling, evidence-based textbook provides a comprehensive overview of psychiatric and mental health nursing. Keeping service users and their recovery at the centre of care, the holistic approach will help nurses to gain the tools and understanding required to work in this complex area.
Royal Marsden Manual Online
Clinical nurse experts from one of the UK’s leading centres of expertise have brought together all the latest clinical evidence nurses need to meet confidently the requirements of their demanding profession. The Manual includes over 350 evidence-based clinical procedures related to every aspect of care, from handwashing to cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
Writing skills for nursing and midwifery students
Dena Bain Taylor is an experienced teacher of writing and critical skills across the range of allied health professions, and understands the types of writing nursing and midwifery students do and the writing issues they face. Her accessible, straightforward book ? tailored specifically to the content and conventions of nursing and midwifery curricula ? teaches students to write persuasively and correctly, both to support them in their courses and to prepare them for their professional careers.