Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Menu Search


Plan your Library visit: Research Collections

Planning your visit to the Research Collections Reading Room to consult holdings from Early Printed Books and Manuscripts & Archives

Plan Your Visit

The Departments of Early Printed Books and Manuscripts & Archives operate a new joint Reading Room in the Old Library and offer access to current TCD staff and students as well as external researchers.

Our opening hours are 10.15am-12.15pm and 1.30pm-3.30pm. (Monday-Friday) and 10.15am-12.15pm (Saturday).

Location: The joint Reading Room is in the East Pavilion of the Old Library and will be familiar to users of the old Early Printed Books Reading Room. Access to the Reading Room is via the Berkeley Library. Please follow the signs directing you along the Berkeley Library tunnel. From there a lift or stairwell will take you to the joint Reading Room.

Alert: Please note that for operational reasons there will be no manuscript material available for consultation from 10th-29th January 2022 inclusive.

Information for researchers wishing to consult Manuscripts and Archives holdings

Please email mscripts@tcd.ie with the following details:

  • What material you would like to consult. Please include relevant information such as name of collection, title of the work and MS reference number.
  • Your mobile number for contact tracing purposes and if it is necessary to contact you regarding your appointment.
  • If you have a preference for a morning (10.15am) or afternoon (1.30pm) appointment.
  • Please note that requests for holdings from the Manuscripts & Archives department must be made at least one week in advance. 
  • If you need to cancel the appointment at short notice or need any further clarification before arrival please ring 01 8961172.                                                                            
  • Please note that following updated health guidance, appointments for the joint Reading Room are now strictly limited to a maximum time of 2 hours.
  • Do not attempt to make a booking or attend an appointment if you are suffering from any COVID-19 symptoms.

Information for researchers wishing to consult Early Printed Books material

  • Readers can now order material online via the main library catalogue or, where prompted, by submitting dockets at any of the library counters.
  • Readers are no longer required to arrange a booking to view the requested material. However, as we are operating at a reduced capacity and expect high demand, we cannot guarantee desk-space will always be available.
  • External researchers will need to email epbooks@tcd.ie in advance to arrange access.
  • Do not attempt to attend the reading room if you are suffering from any COVID-19 symptoms.

In preparation for your visit please read the following guidelines

  • You are required to bring and wear a face covering. 
  • There are handwashing facilities in the Berkeley Library corridor. We ask that you wash your hands before arriving at the joint Reading Room. 
  • You may be required to wear gloves when handling certain items from the collections.
  • Any reader who intentionally disregards these instructions may be asked to leave. 
  • Please bring your own equipment such as pencils, paper, ruler, magnifying glass. 
  • There will be no open-access PC available. If you require online access, please ensure that you bring your own laptop or tablet. 
  • Readers with impaired mobility should contact the relevant department (Early Printed Books or Manuscripts & Archives) in advance to make arrangements to view material.
  • Arrangements will be kept under constant review as the COVID-19 situation changes.
  • Please also note that we may experience events that may limit our ability to maintain this service and it is advisable to check the Library webpage for regular updates. We will email or phone readers consulting Manuscripts & Archives holdings if this happens, and you have already booked an appointment.