Ussher Library Basement Stock Relocation Project
The Library has commenced a stock relocation project in the Ussher Library basement as part of the enabling works for the Old Library Redevelopment Project. This will involve temporary restrictions on access to selected collections. For more details please see this page.
**Please only visit the Library if absolutely necessary**
Face coverings and pre-booking required for all Library spaces. Booking confirmation emails must be presented to security to gain access to campus and to Library stewards to gain access to Library spaces. Strict adherence to social distancing guidelines is essential.
Booking confirmation emails are also required for Click and Collect pick-ups and book returns. You will not be permitted access to campus or the Library if you have not placed a booking on the Library booking system.
We need your help - please return your books!
There are currently a large amount of books on loan, some for well over a year. To help the Library prepare for the new academic year, we are asking that you make every effort to return books you no longer need as soon as possible, ideally before the summer break. There are two main return options:
Library services during the summer period
Book a seat or a 'Click and Collect or Book return' slot
Place your 'Click and Collect' requests ahead of time
Make sure you have funds in your T-Card and Datapac Printing accounts
Library booking system updates
Have you stopped receiving confirmation emails?
The TCD student email system offers an option to unsubscribe from a sender. If this option is selected in emails from the Library Booking System, you will no longer receive booking confirmation emails, which are required for access to campus, to the Library, and also contain your check-in code. If you have stopped receiving confirmation emails, you may have unsubscribed. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org to have them reinstated. Please note that this may take several days.
Back-to-back bookings no longer permitted on the same floor
From Monday 22nd February, 2021, the Library booking system will prevent back-to-back bookings on the same floor to minimise the risk of readers spending more than two hours in the same space and thereby potentially being considered close contacts should contact tracing be required. Readers will therefore be limited to 1 hour 45 minutes at each seat and must then move to another floor or building is they wish to continue to study. It is strongly advised that readers take a 15 minute break for fresh air between each booking slot. Multiple bookings are still possible each day, up to a limit of 40 hours over the course of a calendar week. It is important that readers check-in for each booked slot (it is not sufficient to only check-in for your first slot). Failure to check-in will result in the slot being freed up for others to book.
You should only place bookings for your own use. It is not permitted to place bookings on other people’s behalf or share your booking details with other readers.
Play your part to ensure the smooth and safe running of the booking system.
Only book a seat if you really need it and intend to use it. Cancel your booking if you no longer need it. Please don’t sit at a vacant seat if you have not booked it and do not move chairs from their designated positions.
An Overview of the Library Booking System
As part of a package of measures to ensure compliance with COVID-19 guidelines, readers must book in advance to gain access to campus and to Library spaces.
Key features of the booking system
Booking options in more detail
'Click and Collect' & Book return bookings
Enforcement of booking system
Who is eligible to use the booking system?
The booking system is currently only available for registered staff and students of Trinity College Dublin. Until further notice, we will not be in a position to facilitate physical access to reading rooms for visiting readers. This includes alumni, Music PAL card holders, staff & students of other universities, and members of the public.
To ensure the safety of all staff and readers, please note the following:
There are three main options for returning books, depending on your circumstances:
Books returned via book drops go through a 72-hour quarantine period so will not come off your account immediately.
For students who have already completed their studies but who still have books out on loan, you can avail of the free postal return scheme. For further details, and to place requests, please follow this link.
IMPORTANT: Pre-booking is required to enter campus and collect your books. You can do so from the Library booking system:
The Click and Collect service can be used to request materials from storage and is open to all registered staff and students. Requests are placed in Stella Search by clicking the "Click and Collect" button in the item record and selecting your preferred collection point:
When your item is available for collection, you will receive an e-mail notification. You will have 6 days to collect your books.
The Library provides a book postal delivery service for staff and students in the Republic of Ireland who are not able to visit campus. The service is limited to borrowable materials and is free of charge. For non-borrowable materials we recommend using the Scan on Demand service.
How does the book delivery service work?
Who can avail of the service?
Registered staff and students of Trinity College Dublin.
The Library provides a scan on demand service for registered staff and students to enable requests for scanned copies of print book chapters and journal articles. Scan on demand is designed to support readers who cannot physically make it to the Library and who may require materials not within the scope of the Click & Collect and Postal Delivery services. As such, scan on demand is primarily for periodical and other reference materials. Requests can take up to two weeks to be fulfilled.
The scan on demand service is free of charge. Please note that it can often take a week or more to fulfil requests due to delivery schedules from off-site storage and staff capacity.
How does the scan on demand service work?
Who can avail of the scan on demand service?
The service is available to registered TCD staff and postgraduates, but we will consider urgent requests on a case-by-case basis from undergraduate students if capacity allows. We are not in a position to accept requests from external/visiting readers.
What materials can be requested?
Due to copyright legislation, requests are limited to book chapters and journal articles. We cannot fulfil requests for scanned copies of entire books or journal issues etc. Orders for material from holdings in Early Printed Books & Special Collections outside copyright restrictions will be considered on a case by case basis.
Manuscripts & Archives material is also available for scan on demand on a case by case basis; for further information and to place an order, please contact email@example.com.