Library Guides: Music: Home

Stella Search

MyReadingList

Search for Lists or Courses

Training Materials

About the Library – Essential Information for Music Students

This PowerPoint presentation for undergraduate music students gives basic information on Library services. Further video presentations are available on the Music Technology I (MUU11005 and MUU11006) BlackBoard modules, under the tab 'Using the Library'.

Welcome to the Subject Guide for Music!

Welcome to my Subject Page for Music. Here you will find resources and tips to help you become familiar with all that the Library has to offer. Click through the blue tabs to the left to learn more about the Library including:

How to find your books
How to cite your references
How EndNote can help you manage your references

Explore Stella Search, the Library's catalogue, to discover books, journals and journal articles.

For a more focused approach for finding journal articles, use the Library's databases. This will save you time and effort, and you have peace of mind that you are looking at quality material. I suggest starting with the databases listed below but do also check All Databases for Music.

We wish you every success with your research and study!

Most Important Databases

These are the most useful databases for music research:

Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals.
Over 1.3 million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
NAXOS Music Library This link opens in a new window
Complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 640 labels.
Classical and World music, with the addition of over than 800 CD-length recordings every month. Music notes, cover artwork, tracklist, instrumentation and publisher information included. Contains libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas, composer and artist biographies.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Grove Dictionary of Opera, Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music, Oxford Companion of Music.
Includes full text articles, sibelius-enabled musical examples and links to musical sites.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to worldwide publications on music (c. 30,000 new records per year).
Provides bibliographic information, citations, abstracts and indexes on musical subjects: musical genres and conferences (back to 1865), ethnomusicology, music therapy, education and advanced theory.