Skip to Main Content
Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Menu Search

Music

All Databases for Music

  • Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Best Bet
    An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology.
    Includes related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
  • JSTOR Best Bet
    Comprehensive multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections digital archive.
    Access to the following collections: Ireland Collection, Arts and Sciences I to VIII, JSTOR Arts & Sciences XII Collection, Global Plants and the Life Sciences Collection.
  • Music Periodicals Database Best Bet
    Indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals.
  • NAXOS Music Library Best Bet
    Complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 640 labels.
  • Oxford Music Online Best Bet
    This resource provides access to the Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Grove Dictionary of Opera, Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music, Oxford Companion of Music.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I Best Bet
    Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Best Bet
    A comprehensive guide to worldwide publications on music (c. 30,000 new records per year).
  • RISM Best Bet
    International Inventory of Musical Sources.
  • SMI Music Theses Register Best Bet
    Register of completed and in-progress Irish postgraduate theses in the fields of musicology, ethnomusicology, music education, music technology, music therapy, performance, analysis, composition etc.
  • ACLS Humanities eBook
    ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,400 books in the humanities and related social sciences.
  • British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
    100 years of primary sources related to the arts in Victorian times. Includes, playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores.
  • Cambridge Journals Online
    Over 360 journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
    Coverage: 1997-
  • CECILIA
    • Open access icon
    An on-line guide to music collections in archives, libraries and museums in the UK and Ireland.
  • Concert Programmes
    A database of collections of concert programmes held in European libraries, archives and museums.
    A resource for the history of musical life from the eighteenth century to the present day.
  • Dictionary of Irish Biography
    Includes the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.
  • Drama Online: Globe on Screen 1
    Landmark productions from the theatres 2008 to 2015 seasons
  • Drama Online: Rodenburg [Shakespeare in the present]
    An acting master class with Patsy Rodenburg, (Head of Voice, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, London).
    Rodenburg is recognised as one of the worlds leading voice teachers as well as a renowned authority on Shakespeare.
  • Dublin Music Trade
    The Dublin Music Trade project was initiated by the late Brian Boydell (1917–2000): composer, professor of music at Trinity College Dublin and author of the seminal texts A Dublin Musical Calendar, 1700–60 (Dublin: Irish Academic Press, 1988) and Rotunda Music in Eighteenth-Century Dublin (Dublin: Irish Academic Press, 1992). Over the course of his research, he compiled a card index of music publishers, printers, sellers and instrument makers in Dublin from 1750 to 1850.
  • Early Music Online
    Digitised over 320 volumes of 16th-century anthologies of printed music, from holdings at the British Library.
  • Goodman Manuscripts
    6 manuscripts of Irish traditional music and song available online.
  • Music at the Abbey Theatre
    Music that was performed at the Abbey Theatre from the early years of its existence until 1965 at which point the Abbey orchestra was disbanded.
  • Open Indiana
    A collection of more than 160 open access titles from Indiana University Press, covering subjects such as Asian Studies, Film, Folklore, Language Studies, Music and Philosophy.
    This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.
  • Oxford History of Western Music
    Offers an account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Contains over 240 titles including dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
  • Philosopher's Index
    A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.
  • Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest
    Offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera, memorabilia and video footage from this period in history.
  • Project MUSE
    Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
    TCD does not have access to Project Muse books
  • RASCAL
    RASCAL is an electronic gateway to research resources relating to Ireland. The site can be used to search or browse information about a wide range of research and special collections held in libraries, museums and archives in Ireland and abroad.
  • Sources: A National Library of Ireland Database
    Contains over 180,000 catalogue records for Irish manuscripts, and for articles in Irish periodicals.
  • TARA
    TCD's open access repository.
View More Results

Theses

The following databases will help you find theses on musical topics:

  • Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology.
  • SMI Music Thesis Register Lists Irish postgraduate theses and dissertations in musicology at PhD, MLitt and MA levels. Includes theses which have been submitted or are currently in progress at universities and third-level colleges in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland; are by members of the Society for Musicology in Ireland; or which have been submitted or are in progress at universities elsewhere but are directly related to music in Ireland. A number of undergraduate dissertations of original research merit are also included.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Roy Stanley
Contact:
2nd Floor, Ussher Library (01) 8961156 Roy.Stanley@tcd.ie
Subjects: Music
Subjects: Music