Library Guides: Medicine: Home

Most Useful Databases

There are many databases that could be of use to those studying Medicine but here are some that we would recommend you use:

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmacological database which provides access to the most up-to-date information about medical and drug-related subjects.
The EMBASE.com product allows you to search EMBASE in combination with the MEDLINE database from the National Library of Medicine
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The subject scope of MEDLINE is biomedicine and health. Increased coverage of life sciences began in 2000. To find PDFs from Trinity subscriptions, we recommend you install Lean Library.

This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.
Use PubMed regularly? Then you may prefer to install LibKey Nomad instead. This makes PubMed better - it adds in direct links to our subscribed content, as well as journal covers.

An index of biomedical literature, including all data from the Medline database from National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the US National Library of Medicine (NLM).
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
International literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers searchers access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals).
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for medical and biomedical sciences.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based research to inform healthcare decision making. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.