The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.
The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
Collection of titles relating to the history of eighteenth century Britain, and the Text Creation Partnership seeks to create enduring digital text editions of the most frequently studied works.
Defines the printed record of the English-speaking world from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the end of the First World War.
More than 1,200,000 cross-searchable records drawn from the catalogues of the Bodleian Library, the British Library, Harvard University Library, the Library of Congress, the Library of Trinity College, Dublin, the National Library of Scotland and the University Libraries of Cambridge and Newcastle.
It is now accessed via the C19: The Nineteenth Century Index.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index forms the bibliographic spine of 19th century research, comprising tens of millions of records and providing integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers, archives, and reference material. Users can query its many component indexes simultaneously or can conduct more detailed research using search pages for specific indexes or content types.
The experience of childhood in the nineteenth century in the US and the UK. Covers the social, moral, economic, and political impacts on childhood.
Themes covered: Child Welfare and Reform, Education in the Nineteenth Century, Children’s Literature of Immigrant Communities, Education and Social Issues, Education of the Handicapped, Juvenile Crime and Detention.
Explore a stunning collection of rare books, games, ephemera, and artwork from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries that reveals the socio-cultural history of these times.
Showcasing innovative new publishing methods characteristic of the golden age of children’s literature, from mass-produced chapbooks to richly illustrated ‘book-beautifuls’, this resource examines the way in which new concepts were introduced to young readers, encouraging an engagement with the imagination which went on to fundamentally shape established notions of childhood.
Comprehensive multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections digital archive.
Access to the following collections: Ireland Collection, Arts and Sciences I to VIII, JSTOR Arts & Sciences XII Collection, Global Plants and the Life Sciences Collection.
Over 355,000 works of English and American literature.
Literature Online runs from the 8th Century to the 21st Century and includes 340,000
works of poetry, 6,000 works of Drama, 2,250 works of prose as well as 180+ journals
The Library subscribes to: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920- (ABELL), Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700), Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780), English Drama (1280-1915), English Poetry (600-1900), King James Bible, Modern Poetry (1972-1997), W.B. Yeats Collection (1885-1995).
Bibliographic records relating to: literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Coverage from 1963 to the present.
Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Includes the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.
The Dictionary of Irish Biography is a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, involving 700 contributors and spanning 9,000 lives
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language, using twenty-first century technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period C.E. 1100-1500) and the Oxford English Dictionary, the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.
This release includes a new and updated interface with improved search capabilities.
Global literary reference work written by over 1400 specialists from universities around the world, and currently provides over 3700 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics.
The content is mapped to English and Drama curricula, and commissioned and curated with a view to assisting educators and students in their understanding of core texts, characterisation, and the many and diverse facets of performance.
IMPORTANT: Please be aware that you need to download the latest version of Chrome in order to continue using this browser to watch content on the platform.
Any personal accounts created in DT+ will be cancelled after 12 months of inactivity
Full access to Play texts, Video and Audio. New writers alongside the most iconic names in play writing history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
Features the theatre lists of Methuen Drama, the Arden Shakespeare and Faber and Faber as well as production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum and will be continually updated.
1 Video play: Hamlet by William Shakespeare, adapted by Michael Grandage (Genesius Pictures). Maxine Peake's Hamlet is a female character who takes on a male mantle.
L.A. Theatre Works is a non-profit media arts organization whose mission for over 25 years has been to present, preserve and disseminate classic and contemporary plays.
The L.A. Theatre Works Audio Play Collection for Drama Online includes more than 350 important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the US’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays – which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries – are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
It contains modern works from the oeuvre of American playwrights such as Arthur Miller, David Mamet and Eugene O’Neill.
Nick Hern Books is one of the UK’s leading specialist performing arts publishers, with a vast collection of plays, screenplays and theatre books in their catalogue. They also license most of their plays for amateur performance.
The collection features works from Conor McPherson, Rona Munro, Enda Walsh and Nicholas Wright.
An acting master class with Patsy Rodenburg, (Head of Voice, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, London).
Rodenburg is recognised as one of the worlds leading voice teachers as well as a renowned authority on Shakespeare.
Filmed on the stages of Michael Howard Studios, New York and The Guildhall School of Music and Drama, London, this video master class demonstrates Patsy Rodenburg's techniques and exercises in Movement, Speech, Body and Vocal Warm-Up.
It includes one-on-one analysis of Shakespeare’s most famous monologues, working with those actors performing speeches from Hamlet, Romeo & Juliet, Macbeth, King Lear, and many more.
High quality recordings of classic plays for students and theatre enthusiasts everywhere, filmed in front of a live audience.
4 Video plays. Stage on Screen currently contains these dramas: The Duchess of Malfi by John Webster, Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlowe, School for Scandal by Richard Brinsley Sheridan and Volpone by Ben Jonson.
Professionally produced Irish plays written in English since the formation of the Abbey, Ireland's National Theatre, in 1904 and Playography na Gaeilge (plays written and produced in the Irish language since 1901).
It provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009.
The Bibliography is a guide to the work of historians - it does not contain original sources, unless they have been edited and republished by historians (except for a selection of key sources published before 1901 derived from the printed bibliographies published for the Royal Historical Society and the American Historical Association by Oxford University Press).
As a key part of Western literary and cultural history, British and Irish literature encompasses a massive range of periods, authors, and works that make it one of the most active fields in academia today.
As such, this area of study invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, political science, and philosophy making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about every applicable area. In addition, a great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. In this situation what is most needed is expert guidance. Researchers and practitioners at all levels need tools that help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material that is reliable and directly relevant to their inquiries. Oxford Bibliographies in British and Irish Literature will offer a trustworthy pathway through the thicket of information overload.
Part VI adds additional titles published in Ireland in the late eighteenth, across the nineteenth and during the early twentieth centuries.
A significant number of these are national publications but many are more regional from cities such as Dublin, Cork and Galway as well as more rural towns like Waterford, Tuam, Ballinasloe, and Birr. It will facilitate a range of scholarship across Irish Studies and British history, allowing researchers from the variety of disciplines to access several the most formative and informed newspapers and periodicals that illuminate various aspects of Irish history, society, economy, politics and religion. Key topics include nationalism and Irish independence; Fenianism; The Roman Catholic Church; Irish diaspora; establishment of the Land League; the Irish literary revival; and sport and leisure.
Includes the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland.
The Dictionary of Irish Biography is a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, involving 700 contributors and spanning 9,000 lives
Latest news including sport, analysis, business, weather and more from the definitive brand of quality news in Ireland.
Full text available on ProQuest: 1995 to present.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, these research guides direct researchers to the best available scholarship across the following subjects: Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Classics, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Philosophy.
Professionally produced Irish plays written in English since the formation of the Abbey, Ireland's National Theatre, in 1904 and Playography na Gaeilge (plays written and produced in the Irish language since 1901).
A collaboration between the Centre for Manuscript Genetics (University of Antwerp), the Beckett International Foundation (University of Reading) and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center (University of Texas at Austin).
Consists of two parts:
(a) Digital archive of Samuel Beckett's manuscripts.
(b) Series of 26 volumes, analyzing the genesis of the texts contained in the corresponding modules.
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
Over 700 bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Formerly Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers (or 19th Century British Library Newspapers) contains 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
Ranging from early tabloids like the Illustrated Police News to radical papers like the Chartist Northern Star, publications in Part I span a vast range of national, regional, and local interests. Other notable papers of Part I include the Morning Chronicle, with famous contributors such as Henry Mayhew and John Stewart Mill; the Graphic, publishing both illustrations and news as well as illustrated fiction; and the Examiner, the radical reformist and leading intellectual journal.
The papers themselves have been carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library whose purpose was to provide a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century: from business to sport,from politics to entertainment and the arts. The collection is made up of daily and weekly publications and reflects Britain's growing role as a superpower in the 19th century world.
Part II further expands the range of English regional newspapers and the political views represented in the programme. Researchers can find the newspapers of a number of significant towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, as well as North Wales. The addition of two major London newspapers, The Standard and the Morning Post, helps capture conservative opinion in the nineteenth century, balancing the progressive, more liberal views of the newspapers that appear in Part I.
Part III adds even more regional and local depth to the series, encompassing powerful provincial news journals like the Leeds Intelligencer and Hull Daily Mail, local interest publications such as the Northampton Mercury, and specialist titles such as the Poor Law Unions’ Gazette.
Other noteworthy titles in Part III include the Westmoreland Gazette, whose early editor, Thomas DeQuincy (of Confessions of an English Opium Eater) was forced to resign due to his unreliability.
From key early newspaper titles like the Stamford Mercury to what is possibly the oldest magazine in the world still in publication, the Scots Magazine, Part IV offers key local and regional perspectives from cities as geographically diverse as Aberdeen, Bath, Chester, Derby, Belfast, Liverpool, and York.
In addition, Part IV includes the 1901-1950 runs of papers such as the Aberdeen Journal and Dundee Courier whose earlier newspapers are available in Part I and Part II.
With a concentration of titles from the northern part of the United Kingdom, Part V deepens the database's northern regional content, doubling coverage in Scotland, tripling coverage in the Midlands, and adding a significant number of northern titles to the British Library Newspapers series.
Part V includes newspapers from the Scottish localities of Fife, Elgin, Inverness, Paisley, and John O’Groats, as well as towns just below the border, such as Morpeth, Alnwick, and more. Researchers will also benefit from access to important titles such as the Coventry Herald, which features some of the earliest published writing of Mary Ann Evans (better known as George Eliot).
Part VI adds additional titles published in Ireland in the late eighteenth, across the nineteenth and during the early twentieth centuries.
A significant number of these are national publications but many are more regional from cities such as Dublin, Cork and Galway as well as more rural towns like Waterford, Tuam, Ballinasloe, and Birr. It will facilitate a range of scholarship across Irish Studies and British history, allowing researchers from the variety of disciplines to access several the most formative and informed newspapers and periodicals that illuminate various aspects of Irish history, society, economy, politics and religion. Key topics include nationalism and Irish independence; Fenianism; The Roman Catholic Church; Irish diaspora; establishment of the Land League; the Irish literary revival; and sport and leisure.
Latest news including sport, analysis, business, weather and more from the definitive brand of quality news in Ireland.
Full text available on ProQuest: 1995 to present.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Mirror Historical Archive, 1903-2000 features more than 800,000 pages of full text searchable, scans of the complete run of the Mirror from 1903-2000, including the Sunday Mirror.
Approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century.
The collection encompasses the entire 19th century. Topics covered include: the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
Coverage of the politics, society and events of the time and a search capability using subject terms in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. From 1851 to 2018.
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
Over 700 bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context. Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.
Founded in 1902 as a supplement to The Times (London), for more than 100 years the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. From Anglo-centric beginnings in 1902, by the mid-20th century the TLS had developed into a truly international publication, with contributors from every region of the world.
Until 1974, writings and influential criticism of hundreds of the twentieth century's most important writers and thinkers were kept anonymous to foster open discussion. The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive now discloses the identity of these contributors.
The value of this archive lies in its reach, offering comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications in multiple languages. Many of the world’s most notable writers, critics and thinkers have contributed to the TLS, making it a rich resource for following the developments of debate, opinion and perspective.
Adam Matthew publishes unique primary source products for the social sciences and humanities.
The Library subscribes to 8 collections (2021):
Eighteenth Century Drama
Eighteenth Century Journals: Module I and Module II
Empire Online
India, Raj and Empire
MacMillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest
Virginia Company Archives
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language, using twenty-first century technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period C.E. 1100-1500) and the Oxford English Dictionary, the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.
This release includes a new and updated interface with improved search capabilities.
A register of written sources used by authors in Anglo-Saxon England.
It is intended to identify all written sources in English or Latin texts which were written in Anglo-Saxon England (i.e. England to 1066), or by Anglo-Saxons in other countries. This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.
The award-winning Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
Bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c.300-1500) covering journal articles and miscellany volumes worldwide.
TCD subscribes to IMB ONLY. IMB, BCM and IBHR share one interface, however, the search will produce results from IMB only.
Over 355,000 works of English and American literature.
Literature Online runs from the 8th Century to the 21st Century and includes 340,000
works of poetry, 6,000 works of Drama, 2,250 works of prose as well as 180+ journals
The Library subscribes to: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920- (ABELL), Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700), Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780), English Drama (1280-1915), English Poetry (600-1900), King James Bible, Modern Poetry (1972-1997), W.B. Yeats Collection (1885-1995).
Global literary reference work written by over 1400 specialists from universities around the world, and currently provides over 3700 authoritative profiles of authors, works and literary and historical topics.
Analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500. See Dictionary of Old English and Oxford English Dictionary to provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.
This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection
Bibliographic records relating to: literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Coverage from 1963 to the present.
Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Old English is the ancestor of modern English and was spoken in early medieval England. This website is designed to help you read Old English, whether you are a complete beginner or an advanced learner. It will introduce you, topic by topic, to the structure and sound of the Old English language in easy to digest chunks with plenty of opportunity to practice along the way.
This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.
A partnership of research libraries and library consortia, working to improve global access to European research theses.
Part of the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs).
This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.
