Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Menu Search


Education

Customised resources for Education

Stella Search

Teaching Videos - best practice

japanese proverb great teacher

Finding material

Welcome to the Education page which aims to provide you with enough information about resources and services to get you started on your academic journey.

All of the Library's search tools are available under Search Collections on the homepage. This includes databases, search engines and catalogues.  

Use the library's main search tool, STELLA search (our catalogue), to explore a topic and to find books, journal articles and more. This catalogue facilitates online requesting of Stacks/Storage material which are not on the open shelves.  

STELLA results can be overwhelming so use the limiters or facets under REFINE BY on the results page.   Selecting LIBRARY CATALOGUE ONLY will only display items in our collection, both online and print. Locations and shelfmarks will help you locate material.  Look at the Welcome to the Library page for tutorials on this process.

Please note open shelf collections consist mainly of course related material whilst a lot of books received under copyright from UK and Irish publishers are in Stacks/Storage. These can be requested using the STORAGE REQUEST option within the catalogue record. Postgraduates may borrow from this category; undergraduates may consult them.

Ebooks which have been purchased can be accessed on/off-campus using your College ID (username and password).  However, Ebooks made available under UK copyright must be consulted on site on library pcs. This will be indicated by the following message

Fulltext options for accessing journal articles or papers are evident at the record level in STELLA search. Click and follow links. Again, this requires your College ID.

Articles not displaying? If the article link is not apparent or the link is not working,  try searching again using the journal title and browse options (online or print), taking note of availability for the year you require. Due to some online publisher embargoes (restricted access) for current year issues you should opt for other providers where possible.   Report broken links to Elaine Doherty, doherte4@tcd.ie.  If you still can't locate an item, whether a book or article, email me for confirmation. If I am unavailable to reply, email library@tcd.ie.

Books not in our collection? If no shelfmark or location is evident within the catalogue record, it indicates that the item is not in our collection. You can source material through the inter-library loan service or visit a hosting library with an  ALCID card  (note: undergraduates apply for a letter from the duty librarian).  Tip: check other library catalogues in advance of visiting. 

For more advanced journal article searching necessary for literature reviews, use recommended databases below.  Always consider the interdiscipliniarity of your subject and check other subject librarian libguides.

undefined

Education books on the open shelves are located on the lower level of the Lecky library at shelfmark 370-379. You can virtually browse bookshelves by clicking on the shelfmark number from within a catalogue record for a book. Remember, many books are on closed access (Stacks/Storage).  These are mainly titles we receive under copyright from UK and Irish publishers.  Postgraduates are allowed to borrow these books and undergraduates are allowed to consult them. Use the Storage request button within a book record to order to the service counter. Full information on storage requests, borrowing entitlements and using STELLA search are available under the Welcome to the Library page. Short online tutorials are also available to view. 

Quick link to print books here.  Quick link to ebooks here.

Quick link to ebooks (UK copyright) on Library PCs only

Quick link to Open Access (freely available) academic Ebooks (including education), Open Library,  Springer Open Access collection

Selection of quick links for material on :

Dictionary - Social research methods

Encyclopedias - Education

Handbooks - Education (online)

writing your dissertation/thesis

research methods in education

inclusive education

classroom management

curricula (Ireland)

higher education

history of education (Ireland)

litigation in education (Ireland)

early childhood education

Schools management manual -primary

Irish education manual - reference guide (for all sectors - management guide incl. legislation)

music education

drama in education

Education journals on the open shelves are hardbound and located in the basement of the Ussher library at shelfmark 370.  Current year issues are located immediately on the left of the entrance to the floor.  You can copy one article from an issue. Copying facilities are in the adjacent room. The majority of print issues are in Storage.  Use paper call slips (available at service counters) to request each item.  Increasingly, journals are online.  Quick link to print journals here.  Quick link to ejournals here. 

Use Browzine to search ejournals by subject. Create favourites and get alerts on new content.

 

Everything you need to know about finding theses as well as relevant links is available at Finding Theses. 

Theses are important sources of information and fall into the "grey literature" category. Often not only the content but the structure of other theses can help when you start to tackle your own. Commercial theses databases, such as Proquest's Dissertations and Abstracts (UK/Irl./USA) and some databases (e.g. ERIC, Psycinfo. etc.). provide references to theses which you need to source either using inter library loans, visiting the hosting library or in the case of US theses, direct purchase via the database.  In recent years, universities are making entire theses freely available online. See Open Dissertations(EBSCO) for freely available dissertations and theses. Other useful resources include the British Library's digitised collection eThos (free login) and Dart-Europe.  The latter includes Irish university output. All links available under the Finding Theses page (above).

The library's collection of education dissertations and theses consists of print and increasingly,  online editions.  For print items, which can be  requested from Storage, you can search by author/title/subject keyword or by degree title in STELLA search e.g. Education, M.Ed (note:  M.Ed theses after 2012 are available from the School), Education, Phd etc.  From 2018, higher degrees are submitted online. To access online education theses in Trinity College Dublin, go to Trinity's online repository, TARA.  As well as Phds, this now includes some Postgraduate Master in Education (PME) titles (2018-).  Quick link:  PhDs in TARA,     PMEs in TARA  (please note access to PME dissertations is restricted to TCD students and staff)

Although most Irish official publications are now available online, historical material is shelved at OPUB IE on the first floor of the Berkeley library. Material published by the Department of Education is shelved at OPUB IE EDUC.  The Department of Education and Skills has digitised some historical series such as statistical reports and  circulars.  Digitised education reports from the United Kingdom are freely available to consult.

Contact our staff in Official Publications

An important resource for historical education series up to the establishment of the Irish State is the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers. A useful companion guide to this is Susan Parke's Guide to Sources for the History of Irish Education, 1780-1922.

Quick link to print library sources on the history of Irish education. 

Quick link to Hayes' bibliography online:  Sources. 

View a selection of official documents in EDepositIreland

 

 

Consult the Dorothy Heathcote drama in education DVD series in the library. From the author's own archive. Dvds can be viewed in the Multimedia room located on the second floor of the Ussher library.undefined

Recommended resources

University of Limerick recommendations on other ways to find open access articles. (ignore UL- specific links to services and resources)

Literature Reviews and Referencing

Whether you are being asked to review the literature for an assignment, thesis or for a standalone "systematic review", you need to know where to find authoritative resources, what the process involves and where to get support.  A good starting point is your course handbook which outlines reference style and review criteria. Education students are generally not required to do systematic reviews but to be systematic or structured in their approach to conducting the review. Look at the links tab to read more about the different types of reviews. 

General Library supports include training throughout the year, online and print resources on literature reviews and one to one or small group sessions with subject librarians. Please contact me for help using my email opposite.  You should also take a look at the Student Learning and Development website for complementary resources in this area (e.g. time management, academic writing etc.)

Quick link to ebooks on doing literature reviews (requires College ID to access off-campus).

See Reference Management for information on how to reference using APA style.

Take a look at our Endnote pages to understand how the program works within the context of the literature review process.

Additional links to proprietary guides from Endnote.com (Clarivate Analytics)

See these links to troubleshoot problems you may encounter using APA style in Endnote (courtesy of AUT university librarians)

Subject Librarian

Geraldine Fitzgerald's picture
Geraldine Fitzgerald
Contact:
Mornings: 2nd Floor, Ussher Library
(01) 8963322
geraldine.fitzgerald@tcd.ie

Keep up with Education

See what's happening internationally in the annual Review of Research in Education.undefined

Search Education Arena for updates in your field.