Asian Studies

It is the competent authority for presidential and vice-presidential records and artifacts.

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database. Provides full text access to over 4,600 full text and 3,600 peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subjects areas.

Altmetric Explorer shows the attention your research results are garnering outside the traditional publication channels.
Please use your TCD email to create an account.

Website documenting contemporary Asian art, including a calendar of world events, an online newsletter, online projects, and an extensive annotated list of links on contemporary Asian art.

By developing a collection of digital books and a database of web resources in textual and visual mode, the Asian Digital Library (BNA) aims to contribute to research and the dissemination of knowledge on East Asia.

A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage with over 9000 photos of 595 sites in eighteen countries, and includes background information and virtual tours. This website is a collection of photos from many different contributors.

This informative magazine was founded in 1952 by Soong Ching-ling [Madam Sun Yat-sen], with the help of the naturalized Chinese citizen Israel Epstein. Originally it appeared bi-monthly (6 issues/year), and later became a monthly. In 1990 it changed its name to China Today, and seems to have ceased publication at the end of 2007.

Free database of educational studies in Chinese communities. Containing approx 13,000 entries and abstracts, including English and Chinese articles from 19 leading Chinese educational journals, dating back to 1990. Also includes theses and dissertations.

The images in this collection were assembled by Anne S. Goodrich (1895–2005) in 1931, when as a Christian missionary in Peking she became interested in local folk religious practices. She studied the paper gods in this collection for much of her life. After publishing her research conclusions in 1991, she donated these prints to the C. V. Starr East Asian Library, Columbia University.

The database has been created to facilitate research on the project's instrument and object of investigation: the commercial periodical press.

More than 2,000 documents concerning the relationship between the United States and China, with an emphasis on the 1969-1998 time period.

Over 2,300 documents providing new insights into aspects of intelligence operations.

The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.
This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.

This project locates, digitalizes, archives, and disseminates online photographs from the substantial holdings of images of modern China held mostly in private hands outside that country.
The photographs presented here cover over a century of modern China's history, and a very wide range of places, communities and themes.

Hong Kong Government Reports Online (HKGRO) is a full-text image database providing online access to pre-World War II issues of four major government publications, namely, Administrative Report, Hong Kong Sessional Papers, Hong Kong Hansard and Hong Kong Government Gazette. It contains a wide range of information, such as official notifications, proceedings of the Legislative Council, statistics, and reports of government departments and special committees, which are essential to students and scholars in conducting research on Hong Kong.

The HKWCT Collection is part of a project funded by the Hong Kong SAR government’s Research Grants Council. The Collection’s website provides details of, and access to, the case files of 46 trials involving 123 persons who were tried in Hong Kong for war crimes committed during the Second World War.

The Fairbank Chinese History Virtual Library was founded to facilitate easy access to sources of modern Chinese historical information on the internet.

Comprehensive multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections digital archive.
Access to the following collections: Ireland Collection, Arts and Sciences I to VIII, JSTOR Arts & Sciences XII Collection, Global Plants and the Life Sciences Collection.

An Open Access collection sponsored by the Center for Research Libraries.
The first half of the twentieth century began with the demise of China’s last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and ended with the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949. Following the 1912 establishment of China’s first post-imperial government, the Republic of China, the country experienced both industrial and social revolution, a civil war during which communist and nationalist forces battled to shape the country’s future, and looming external threats during both world wars.

Ling long women's magazine, published in Shanghai from 1931 to 1937, was popular during a time of dramatic material, social, and political change in China. Today, the magazine offers researchers a unique glimpse into women's lives in Republican-era (1911-49) Shanghai. This site features Columbia University's collection of Ling long magazine, one of the most complete holdings outside China.

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

The archive contains every piece ever published in the magazine: over 13,500 articles by more than 2000 contributors from the past 30 years.

A database that includes an index to the biographies and writings of members of the Chinese Communist Party and their supporters in other countries and other material about the Chinese Revolution.
Documents: Important writings in the history and development of Chinese Communism.
Peking Review: A selection of articles covering 1958-2006.
Music, Songs of the cultural revolution: The songs featured below were collected from a series of flexi-disks (6-inch records) issued in the People's Republic of China during the Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution.
Mao Zedong Image gallery.

Open E-books covering Japanese, Chinese, South Asian, and South East Asian Studies.
This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.

Modern History Databases (MHDB) integrates the Institute's digital scholar resources from library, archive, Hu Shih memorial hall, databases found by MHDB team and interlibrary cooperation. Users can directly search keywords from this page and browse all related information

Digital Gems is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from NUS Libraries Special Collection in digital format. This virtual library provides access to a selection of rare books, manuscripts, private collections, journals, newspapers, drawings, pamphlets, photographs, maps, and audio-visual materials of cultural and historical value. Digital content in the NUS Libraries Digital Gems comes from the following collections in the NUS Libraries.
This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.

A collection of more than 160 open access titles from Indiana University Press, covering subjects such as Asian Studies, Film, Folklore, Language Studies, Music and Philosophy.
This is a free electronic resource and TCD cannot guarantee the stability of the connection.

Collection reproduces the six principal MID files relating exclusively to China for the period 1918 to 1941 (general conditions, political conditions, economic conditions, army, navy, and aeronautics).

Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
TCD does not have access to Project Muse books

Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.

24 Chinese historical newspaper titles, including: The China Weekly Review (1923-1950), The North-China Herald and Supreme Court & Consular Gazette (1870-1941) and the Peking Daily News (1914-1917).

Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of worldwide research journals.