Skip to Main Content
Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Menu Search

Geology

What is a database?

A database is a searchable collection of information. It is a great place to look for journal articles. Each database contains thousands of articles which you can search for simultaneously rather than searching through individual journals.

Databases offer access to high-quality peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations and other sources.

Articles in peer-reviewed journals have been assessed before publication by subject experts. This means they are the "gold standard" in academic articles - the top journals in any field are highly likely to be peer-reviewed. You will normally be expected to use peer-reviewed journal articles in your assignments.

The databases below have been selected for this subject area.

Database Guides

What are databases & when should I use them?

Finding relevant databases & getting started

 

Databases for Geology

  • American Geophysical Union Journals Best Bet
    16 online journals published by the AGU. 2009 only.
  • GeoRef Best Bet
    Established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world.
    The database contains over 3.4 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
  • GeoScience World Best Bet
    Provides a single source of access to 50 preeminent scholarly journals.
  • Scopus Best Bet
    An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences.
  • Academic Search Complete
    The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database. Provides full text access to over 4,600 full text and 3,600 peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of subjects areas.
  • Annual Reviews
    Authoritative, analytic reviews in focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
  • BioMed Central
    Peer-reviewed biomedical research. Also covers the physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines.
  • Cambridge Journals Online
    Over 360 journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
    Coverage: 1997-
  • Google Scholar
    A Google database focusing specifically on scholarly literature. To add links to TCD subscriptions of journal articles, follow our video guide.
  • Nature Journals Online
    Leading weekly, international scientific journal dedicated to serving the scientific and medical communities and the wider scientifically interested general public
  • Oxford Academic Journals Online
    Consists of 169 online journals from arts, social science, scientific, technical, medical, professional and humanities disciplines.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
    Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
  • Radiological Protection Institute of Ireland
    Ireland’s expert voice on ionising radiation. The RPII is an independent public body under the aegis of the Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government. The RPII was established in 1992 under the 1991 Radiological Protection Act, which conferred on the RPII a broad remit in relation to radiological protection in Ireland.
  • ScienceDirect
    Scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,200 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
  • SpringerLink
    Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.
  • Wiley Online Library
    Full text access to over 2,400 journals in all disciplines published by John Wiley & Sons.
View More Results

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Jessica Leonard
Contact:
Lower Level, Hamilton Library, Wednesday to Friday
leonarj2@tcd.ie
Subjects: Geology