Library Guides: Biochemistry: Home

Welcome

Welcome to my Subject Page for Biochemistry. Here you will find resources and tips to help you become familiar with all that the Library has to offer. Click through the blue tabs to the left to learn more about the Library including:

How to find your books
How to cite your references
How EndNote can help you manage your references
Databases

Explore Stella Search, the Library's catalogue, to discover books, journals and journal articles.

Most Useful Subscribed Databases

The most useful databases for Biochemistry are :

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmacological database which provides access to the most up-to-date information about medical and drug-related subjects.
The EMBASE.com product allows you to search EMBASE in combination with the MEDLINE database from the National Library of Medicine
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1,200 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Covers more than 15,000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of worldwide research journals.
Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to present), and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 to present).
Access to several more indexes have been included under the IReL Consortium: for a 3-year period, including:
Conference Proceedings Citation Index; Book Citation Index; Current Chemical Reactions; Index Chemicus. Biosis Citation Index; Current Contents Connect; Data Citation Index; Derwent Innovations Index; Zoological Record. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching.