Library Guides: Law: Home

Welcome

Welcome to my Subject Page for Law. Here you will find resources and tips to help you become familiar with all that the Library has to offer. Click through the blue tabs to the left to learn more about the Library including:

How to find your books
How to cite your references
How EndNote can help you manage your references
Databases

Explore Stella Search, the Library's catalogue, to discover books, journals and journal articles.

For a more focused approach for finding journal articles, use the Library's databases for Law.

I wish you the very best of luck with your studies. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need further help.

Getting Started : The Library - and Other Resources

HITS - Helpful Information for Trinity Students & Staff
A series of introductory classes given by the Staff of the Library and of Student Learning & Development (SLD); webpage includes links to slides from previous sessions.
Online Tutorials
Need to find a book or journal article? Want an update on your Endnote skills? Forget how to access your Library Account? You will find all your answers here!
Essay Writing
How to get started. Slides written by our Colleagues in Student Learning Development
Student Learning Development
Student Learning Development provides learning support to help Trinity students reach their academic potential. Whether you are are struggling with your studies or just want to improve your performance - they provide workshops and events throughout the year, on a range of academic and learning skills - such as study and exam skills, presentation skills, writing and critical thinking skills.

Referencing

Avoiding Plagiarism
What is plagiarism and how to avoid it
OSCOLA Ireland
A guide to the Irish version of OSCOLA - the reference style used in the School of Law
Endnote
Reference management software. Takes a while to get the hang of it but it can take the pain out of writing your bibliography
Oscola, Endnote and Cite While You Write
An excellent short video - produced by Newcastle University Library - on how to use Endnote with Oscola when writing your paper
Citing the Law
A very useful introduction to Oscola and citing the law from Cardiff University
OSCOLA Style
A comprehensive guide to the reference style used in legal writing. Absolutely spellbinding, if pages and pages of annotations is your thing
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
All those legal acronyms explained

Most Useful Databases

These are the databases that you will be returning to again and again!

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
The world's largest image-based legal research database.
Content spans multiple library collections, and subscribers in more than 150 countries enjoy online access to tens of millions of pages of research material that in many instances is only available online in HeinOnline.
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information and expert opinion from established names such as Butterworths, Tolley and Halsbury's. Law coverage includes journal articles and case law (including Irish Digests, approved judgments, reported and unreported cases).
StareDecisis This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date law reports for all of the superior courts in the Republic of Ireland.
Search cases by Keyword, Subject Matter, Court, or Judge, separately or in any combination. StareDecisis contains easy to read judgment summaries and covers all judgments from the Supreme Court, High Court, and Court of Appeal since Jan 2011. All judgment summaries are written by practising barristers specialising in covering specific areas of subject matter ensuring consistent reporting. All judgments are reported within 7 days.
vLex Justis This link opens in a new window
Previously called Justis; JustisOne
The following modules are included in the TCD subscription via IReL: Inquest Law Reports ; CCH Tax Cases ; English Reports ; Justis EU ; Police Law Reports ; Session Cases Service ; Prison Law Reports ; Mental Health Reports ; Justis UK Legislation Complete ; Justis Human Rights ; Irish Reports and Digests ; Times Law Reports ; Justis E and W Judgments Complete (Civil and Criminal) ; Justis Irish Cases & Legislation (previously: Firstlaw) ; Aspinall's Maritime Law Cases ; State Trials ; JustCite.com
The collection now also includes Irish court listings, otherwise known as dockets.
These High Court dockets are available without search or time constraints, and can be accessed alongside the largest collection of Irish judgments available anywhere online, and in conjunction with vLex’s ecosystem of award-winning technology.
Westlaw IE This link opens in a new window
Irish legal materials database; contains Irish reported and unreported case law, consolidated/annotated legislation, legal textbooks and legal journals.
Also offers a current awareness service providing updates on recent developments in Irish law.
Also offers a current awareness service providing updates on recent developments in Irish law.
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Off-campus access now available. Login using your College network login.
Law of the United States, United Kingdom, European Union and other jurisdictions. Includes journal articles, case law and legislation. Includes CELEX database of EU legislation and case law.

Useful Websites - Legislation

Irish Statute Book
Acts of the Oireachtas and Statutory Instruments from the foundation of the State. Also includes some pre-1922 material.
Houses of the Oireachtas
UK Legislation
Official UK website
US Legislation
Official US website
ABC of EU Law
Absolutely indispensable guide to EU legislation. Covers all key developments in the EU Legal Order up to 2023.
EU Legislation & Case Law
EUR-lex - the EU's database of legislation and case law
World Legal Information Institute
Free online database of cases and legislation worldwide.

Useful Websites - Case Law

BAILII
British and Irish Legal Information Institute - the world's most popular free legal website. Case law and legislation
Courts Service of Ireland
Includes judgements and determinations.
EU Case Law
EUR-lex - all EU legislation and case law in one place
Find EU Case Law
Another gateway to EU case law
Law Magazine
Offering a fresh perspective on law in Ireland today. Geared towards young lawyers and "soon to be" qualified lawyers.

Keeping Up To Date

Bar Review
Journal of The Bar of Ireland. Available through Westlaw IE
The Irish Jurist
Ireland's oldest academic law journal. Available through Westlaw IE
Law Magazine
Offering a fresh perspective on law in Ireland today. Geared towards young lawyers and "soon to be" qualified lawyers.
The Parchment
Journal of the Dublin Solicitors Bar Association
Westlaw IE Current Awareness
Irish legal news and developments, including newspaper articles. Updated weekly.

Subject Librarian

Terry McDonald

She / Her

Email Me

Contact:

4th Floor, Ussher Library

+3531 896 2733

Subjects: Law

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Search

Trinity Menu

Law