Library Guides: Irish & Celtic Studies: Databases for students

TCD Library catalogue search

Databases for students

Irish-interest Databases (some free, several not in Library system)

Abair
- Irish language synthesiser
Ainm.ie
- Beathaisnéis=Biographies. The information pages on this site are in Irish and in English. The biographies are in the Irish language only.
Aistear.ie
- Béim ar shainscileanna na heagarthóireachta agus an aistriúcháin = Focuses on the specialised skills of editing and translation. Interactive.
Bardic Poetry Database by Dr Katharine Simms (Dept. of History, TCD).
- DIAS (Institúid Ard-Léinn: Scoil an Léinn Cheiltigh)
- Damian McManus (Scoil na Gaeilge, TCD) TCD ‘Bardic Poetry’ project, (Bardic poetry, electronic corpus)
Bibliography of Irish Linguistics and Literature
- DIAS (Institúid Ard-Léinn: Scoil an Léinn Cheiltigh)
- Electronic and Printed Editions
Bunachar Logainmneacha na hÉireann = Placenames Database of Ireland
Cois LIfe (Closleabhair)
- (Audiobooks - free downloads from the Cois Life publisher site for individual use)
CODECS
- online database and e-resources for Celtic Studies / designed, directed and maintained by Dennis Groenewegen. Published by Stichting A. G. van Hamel voor Keltische Studies (A. G. van Hamel Foundation for Celtic Studies).
COMHARTaighde
- Iris phiarmheasta, leictreonach, acadúil do Léann na Nua-Ghaeilge = peer-reviewed academic electronic journal for the study of Modern Irish.
DIAS
- Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies: School of Celtic Studies = Institúid Ard-Léinn: Scoil an Léinn Cheiltigh
Dúchas.ie
- National Folklore Collection UCD Digitization Project
Foclóir.ie
- Foras na Gaeilge: New English-Irish Dictionary.
Focal.ie
- Foras na Gaeilge: *NOVEMBER 2018: "every Irish word from the publication of de Bhaldraithe's dictionary (1959) to the present day".
Gaois.ie
- Terminology database: collections. IATE Terminology; Terms from Statutory Instruments; Téarmaí Dlí (Oifig an tSoláthair, 1959); Focal sa Chúirt Ó Catháin, L. (Coiscéim, 2000); Acts of the Oireachtas: Short Titles (1922- )
ISOS: Irish Script On Screen
- DIAS (Institúid Ard-Léinn: Scoil an Léinn Cheiltigh)
- Hundreds of manuscripts freely available online.
- [Palaeography] For larger, clearer images of manuscripts, register (for free) with this site.
Léamh: Learn Early Modern Irish
logainm.ie SEE Bunachar Logainmneacha na hÉireann
- Bunachar Logainmneacha na hÉireann = Placenames Database of Ireland
Monasticon Hibernicum
- DIAS (Institúid Ard-Léinn: Scoil an Léinn Cheiltigh)
- Early Christian Ecclesiastical Settlement in Ireland 5th to 12th Centuries
Ogham in 3D
- DIAS (Institúid Ard-Léinn: Scoil an Léinn Cheiltigh)
- Ogham: earliest form of writing
- Three-dimensional models of Ogham stone
Playography na Gaeilge (all new plays written and produced in the Irish language since 1901)
Portráidí na Scríbhneoirí Gaeilge = Portraits of Irish-Language Writers
Pota Focal
- Bailiúchán foclóirí agus gluaiseanna Gaeilge é Pota Focal a cuireadh le chéile as na foinsí seo a leanas
- Pota Focal is a collection of Irish dictionaries built from the following sources:
  - Gluais Tí = House Glossary
  - Irishionary.com
  - Beo!
  - Líonra Séimeantach na Gaeilge = Irish Semantic Network
  - Nua-Chorpas na hÉireann = New Corpus for Ireland
Téarma.ie
- Is é seo an Bunachar Náisiúnta Téarmaíochta don Ghaeilge, arna fhorbairt ag Fiontar, DCU i gcomhar leis an gCoiste Téarmaíochta, Foras na Gaeilge.
- This is the National Terminology Database for Irish, developed by Fiontar, DCU in collaboration with An Coiste Téarmaíochta, Foras na Gaeilge.
Tuairisc.ie
- Cuireann Tuairisc.ie seirbhís nuachta Gaeilge ar fáil do phobal uile na Gaeilge, in Éirinn agus thar lear.
- Tuairisc.ie provides a news service in Irish for the Irish speaking community in Ireland and abroad. This initiative is supported by Foras na Gaeilge.