News & Events - Library Guides at Trinity College Dublin

Love reading? And talking about reading? Want to learn more about the climate & nature emergency but unsure where to start? A new student book club may be for you!

This October, the Library and Clare Kelly (School of Psychology) are launching the Climate and Nature Book Club - open to all students (undergraduate and postgraduate). Our plan is to read and discuss a selection of the best books on the ecological crisis to foster engagement and build a community of solidarity. We’ll meet twice per term and read both non-fiction and fiction.

The first meeting will take place on Wednesday 9th October at 12:00-14:00 in the North Training Room in The Library (former Berkeley Library). The October pick is Generation Dread: Finding Purpose in an Age of Climate Crisis by Britt Wray.

There are copies of the book available in the Library.

We look forward to seeing you then!

Recent Posts

New Climate and Nature Book Club for Students

Love reading? And talking about reading? Want to learn more about the climate & nature emergency but unsure where to start? A new student book club may be for you!This October, the Library and Clare Kelly (School of Psychology) are launching the Climate and Nature Book Club - open to all students (undergraduate and postgraduate). Our plan is to read and discuss a selection of the best books on the ecological crisis to foster engagement and build a community of solidarity. We’ll meet twice per term and read both non-fiction and fiction. The first meeting will take place on Wednesday 9th October at 12:00-14:00 in the North Training Room in The Library (former Berkeley Library). The October pick is Generation Dread: Finding Purpose in an Age of Climate Crisis by Britt Wray.There are copies of the book available in the Library. We look forward to seeing you then!...

Extended Reading Room Opening Hours in Research Collections

Following the recent re-location of Research Collections to the Interim Research Collections Study Centre in the basement of the Ussher Library we are delighted to extend our opening hours during term-time. We now offer late opening on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. The new opening hours during term are:Monday 10am – 4pmTuesday 10am – 8pmWednesday 10am – 8pmThursday 10am – 4pmFriday 10am – 4pmSaturday 10am – 1pmPLEASE NOTE there will be two exceptions to the above in the following two weeks. The Reading Room will close at 4pm on Wednesday, September 11th and Tuesday September, 17th September. With the exclusion of these dates, the above new opening hours will apply for the rest of the academic year...

The Yeats Sisters and Irish Design Celebrated in Library Exhibition

The remarkable contribution of the Yeats sisters to Irish craft culture is being celebrated in a new exhibition in the Old Library from this week. In partnership with the Department of Foreign Affairs, a touring version of the exhibition will also be shown internationally through Ireland’s global network of Embassies and Consulates, introducing new audiences to Irish design heritage and the lasting legacies of Elizabeth and Lily Yeats and other Cuala artists, while also celebrating local female-led creative and craft enterprises. Elizabeth and Susan (Lily) Yeats were nationally and internationally recognised as leading figures in the Arts and Crafts movement in the early 20th century, but their contribution has perhaps been overshadowed by those of their brothers, painter Jack Yeats and WB Yeats, the poet and Noble Laureate. Elizabeth and Lily founded two successful craft business in Dublin, Dun Emer Industries (1902-1908) and Cuala Industries (1908-1940), which specialised in fine publishing, including books and artist designed prints under the directorship of Elizabeth, and embroidery under Lily. Their work was in demand from Irish and international customers. Both businesses almost exclusively employed and trained young women. On display in Trinity’s Old Library are photographs and other archival material giving a flavour of the working lives of the Cuala women as well as examples of the prints and needlecraft produced by the business. Digital screens in the Long Room showcase further material from Trinity’s Cuala collections. Entitled ‘The Yeats Sisters & Irish Design: Making, Identities & Legacies’, the exhibition forms part of the Book of Kells visitor experience and runs until 26 September. See hereherehere to book tickets. “Over the last number of years, the Cuala Press Project has worked to raise the profile of the Yeats sisters and the artists they collaborated with,” explains Dr Angela Griffith from Trinity’s School of Histories and Humanities and co-curator of the exhibition. This exhibition illustrates how the Cuala Industries constructed a distinctive and sophisticated form of Irish cultural identity for national and international audiences. The quality of art and design production at Cuala demonstrates their engagement with, and promotion of, national and international Arts and Crafts theories and practices. Cuala set a standard that all others followed in Ireland. Their work also provides important insight into the social status of working women in the first half of the twentieth century, the contribution of women to industry, and the agency of women in art and design production both in Ireland and internationally. "The international touring version of this exhibition will honour and celebrate the global footprint of the Yeats sisters’ design heritage,” comments Dr Angela Byrne, co-curator of the exhibition.As Irish women of the Yeats sisters’ generation emigrated in their droves, the constant flow of people between Ireland and the wider world nurtured and inspired cultural expression. Dun Emer textiles were displayed at the 1904 World’s Fair in St Louis and at Irish fairs in New York. They are part of the creative legacy of Ireland’s struggle for independence and the process of finding our place in the world. Trinity is home to a range of fascinating material related to Cuala Press including beautiful handprinted and hand coloured artist-designed prints, records from the Cuala’s business archive, a complete set of published works, as well as the printing press, type and some hundreds of printer's blocks. A selection of this material is available to the public as a digital collection, The Cuala Press Collection, as part of the Virtual Trinity Library. An ongoing project to catalogue, conserve, digitise and increase public awareness of the collection is supported by the Schooner Foundation. Laura Shanahan, Head of Research Collections, the Library of Trinity College Dublin, added: The Library is proud to be able to share the work of these incredible women in this exhibition, as a result of the research and conservation-archival partnership between the Library and the department of History of Art and Architecture in Trinity Collection Dublin. The material displayed in this exhibition demonstrates the skill and foresight of these women entrepreneurs, and we expect their story to captivate visitors who will long remember Cuala Industries, the Yeats sisters, and their impact and influence in Ireland and beyond. About the Cuala Press ProjectTrinity’s Cuala Press Research Project is a collaboration between the Library of Trinity College Dublin and the Department of the History of Art and Architecture. It is funded by the Schooner Foundation. The Project focuses on the work of Elizabeth C. Yeats and the artists that contributed designs to this exceptional female-run private press. The designers involved are among some of the most important 20th century Irish artists, not least among them was Jack Yeats, Elizabeth’s youngest sibling, and women such as Beatrice Elvery and Dorothy Blackham. As a result of Schooner’s philanthropic investment, for the first time Cuala materials have been made available as a digital collection, The Cuala Press Collection, as part of Virtual Trinity Library. The aim of the project is to catalogue, conserve, research and digitize the collections, providing access to researchers, scholars of all ages and the wider public. The Cuala Press Print Collection comprises hand-printed and hand-coloured original artist-led designs. The Cuala Press Business Archives comprises approximately 81 boxes of material relating to the company business such as minute books of directors' meetings, cash books and letters. This collection also includes original preparatory drawings for prints, sample books, and designs for embroidery. Personal material such as photograph albums and scrapbooks also provide an invaluable insight to the working lives of the women of Cuala. Example are included in this exhibition. Image: Detail from Mary Cottenham Yeats, The Rainbow, Dublin: Cuala Press, 1910s, hand coloured photoengraving - IE TCD MS 11574/20/1. ...

A Reminder of Temporary Closure of the 1937 Reading Room 12-14 June 2024

The Library is glad to report that the window restoration project in the 1937 Reading Room is reaching its final stages. New windows have been fitted throughout the building and various upgrades have been made to the roof and drainage system.One of the few remaining jobs to be completed is the installation of new blinds in the main reading room space. This requires the construction of scaffolds, which means the main reading room space will need to close for three days from the 12th - 14th June 2024. During this period, Kinsella Hall will be available on a 24/7 basis as an alternative space for evening, weekend and overnight study. And the Library's main reading rooms will remain accessible as normal on the summer opening schedule. Normal service (i.e. 24-hour opening) is expected to resume in the 1937 Reading Room on Saturday 15th June.We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your ongoing patience as we complete the final stages of this challenging and complex project....

New Climate and Nature Book Club for Students

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

New Climate and Nature Book Club for Students

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please login here and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.